The last piece of me.

Yoneblogger
2 min readMay 18, 2022

Many years ago, I arrived in Japan. Why? I know why, but I don’t know how. All I know is that Japan is the destiny I couldn't “scape.”

I let my curiosity run wild and started discovering its culture, language and unveiling its secrets. I anchored myself to its corals. I cemented my life to withstand the earthquakes that visit the islands from time to time. Their Gods became my Gods. Their people became my people, and its history became part of mine.

I felt safe but never at home. And yet, Japan was more home to me than my own birth place. Ironic isn’t it?

If I stayed “abroad” for more than a week, I started dreaming of the Hokkaido’s sirens calling me, asking to come back because the spirits wouldn’t protect me much longer. And I was back at Haneda again ready to be embraced by my guardian spirits.

When my world shattered and I had to unroot myself from Japan, Amabie (legendary deity that emerges in times of chaos to bring hope) was still calling me, reminding me that I can’t scape the islands, because our destinies have been intertwined in a paradox that can only be explained by oracles.

Today, I have started untidying the last piece of me left in Japan. Today, for a brief moment, I want to believe that I am free and that Izanami (Goodess creator of Japan) has forgotten about me. But, I know deep down that Miyako (island in Okinawa) still singing my name, and that I will play in its sands once more.

--

--

Yoneblogger

Yoneko Shiraishi is a writer, who loves sharing posts about life, and love.